About The Swing Society

The Illini Swing Society is a Registered Student Organization (RSO) with the purpose of promoting the education and enjoyment of the various swing dance styles within the community of Champaign-Urbana. We hold dances, organize workshops and offer lessons teaching Lindy Hop, Charleston, and other swing dances.

The Illini Swing Society was established in 1994, at the beginning of the national revival of the swing era of dance. Since then, we've seen our numbers grow and now have over 1,900 people who receive our weekly e-mail.

The Swing Society is governed by a board of elected officers, as required by our constitution (PDF). The board is elected in pre-announced elections at least once a year and the board members are listed below.

Current Board Members

President:
Joseph Krause, president@illiniswing.org
Vice President:
Jenny Nevarez, vp@illiniswing.org
Treasurer:
Vivian Li, treasurer@illiniswing.org
Events Chair:
Sam Zorich, events@illiniswing.org
PR Chair:
Yvonne Schleife, pr@illiniswing.org
Webmaster:
David Rodgers, webmaster@illiniswing.org
Lessons Chair:
Lisa Pearson, lessons@illiniswing.org
Workshop Chair:
Sam Zorich, workshop@illiniswing.org
Travel Chair:
Vacant, travel@illiniswing.org