About The Swing Society

The Swing Society at The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) is a Registered Student Organization (RSO) with the purpose of promoting the education and enjoyment of the various swing dance styles within the community of Champaign-Urbana. We hold dances, organize workshops and offer lessons teaching Lindy Hop, Charleston, and other swing dances.

The Swing Society at The University of Illinois was established in 1994, at the beginning of the national revival of the swing era of dance. Since then, we've seen our numbers grow and now have over 1,900 people who receive our weekly e-mail.

The Swing Society is governed by a board of elected officers, as required by our constitution (PDF). The board is elected in pre-announced elections at least once a year and the board members are listed below.

Current Board Members

President:
Kevin Larson, president@illiniswing.org
Vice President:
Ann Lucenko, vp@illiniswing.org
Treasurer:
Alexander Smith, treasurer@illiniswing.org
Events Chair:
Evan Mirts, events@illiniswing.org
PR Chair:
Jenny Nevarez, pr@illiniswing.org
Webmaster:
David Rodgers, webmaster@illiniswing.org
Lesson Chair:
Bradley Smith, lessons@illiniswing.org
Workshop Chair:
David Rodgers, workshop@illiniswing.org
Travel Chair:
Joseph Krause, travel@illiniswing.org